Great Yarmouth Bowls Club

Whilst in Yarmouth last summer, I happened upon the monthly meeting of the Great Yarmouth Bowls Club. I sat and watched them play for a while, and realised that I admired the formality of this traditional sport. To think that a group of men dress in such formal attire to meet just to play a game is fantastic. I also went over to the ‘club hut’ where many of the players’ wives had arranged half-time refreshments consisting of sandwiches, tea and halves of bitter. I also had the opportunity whilst in there to purchase an enamelled club badge. Of course, I snapped it up.

Leave a Reply

