Coalville Market

In a previous post I mentioned that the Market in Coalville faces an uncertain future as the council have decided to demolish the building in order to build more housing. Below are a selection of photographs (for posterity) that I took once I heard the news. It is hard to be believe just how thriving this market once was – even I as a child remember it being so busy with every stall occupied. Whenever I return to the midlands I always try to make sure I visit the market, but each visit is slightly sadder than the last. It is a shame to think that many markets across the country face(or have already faced) a similar fate to Coalville Market. Something that was so central to the heart of the community is now disappearing to be replaced by the cold experience of visiting a ‘supermarket’.

Leave a Reply

