Marjorie Doreen Beresford

Last year, my Great Aunt sadly passed away. It was quite an intense time as my whole family went to the hospital (upon their urgent request) where she was being treated and basically watched her die.  It was a truly heartbreaking experience.  When I was a child, ‘Aunt Majorie’ lived in an old farmhouse in the middle of nowehere, with a beautiful garden and hedges trimmed to resemble wildlife, by my Great Uncle Wilf. Aunt Majorie used to save my sister and I the pencil toppers that came free with Kellogg’s Rice Krispies whenever we visited.

After Uncle Wilf passed away, Majorie moved into a smaller terraced house in Nuneaton so that she could be supported by her own sister, Dorothy. I never really visited Aunt Marjorie in the new house – I suppose that I was at that stubborn teen-age where you think that there are better things to do. I perhaps visited the house once in the entire time she resided there.  The next time I visited, with regret, was after her passing, to be involved in the house clearance. Everything was left to The Old Miner and his brother, and with no real use for the majority of the items, aside from a few keepsakes, most things went to auction.  I managed to salvage a few things that I thought were too beautiful and sentimental to be sold for pennies at a sale. This was a strange experience in itself as I felt a little like I was stealing. However, now I am just pleased that these things are in my life and would like to keep hold of them forever. I would like to post a few of these things, to share them with the world. Perhaps to most people they are slightly meaningless, but to me they are an insight into the lady who I never properly knew but will have an influence in my life from this point onwards.

Aunt Majorie drove goods transportation trucks during World War II – here she is in 1942 when she enrolled on the driving course at Morecambe:

I found many little notes that Aunt Majorie had written throughout her lifetime. I feel that she was a great believer in the Royal Mail. Something that I thought particularly lovely was this recipe book, in which she had compiled her own selection of recipes through either clippings from magazines and newspapers, or recipes she had written down from friends or other sources. I really enjoy the way that there are so many different types of papers and clippings – it is surely a joy to look through.

Leave a Reply

