Utility Shirt

After I completed making the ‘Basic Shirt’ last week, I decided to look back over some of the research I have collected over the years and cut something with a bit more of a “utility” feel to it. For this shirt, I made the shape far less fitted, with an almost box-like feel to it, to remove any feeling of restriction. I really tried to improve the build quality with this shirt, using lap seams throughout and a heavyweight dark chambray fabric. The shirt itself actually feels quite ‘heavy duty’ – I always appreciate the value added to a garment by its weight. For me, this is another step towards an aesthetic I would like to develop, but I am treating it as more of an experiment at this stage.

Leave a Reply

