Cotton Bag

I decided to make a simple cotton bag (the kind that are now sported by seemingly everyone in East London, thanks to “Alphabet Bags”) because I basically needed some sort of bag for my laptop. However, as finances are usually quite low, I thought that making one would be the best solution. I wanted to develop slightly on the cotton bags that I have seen around, so I made a lining for the bag and rather than printing / painting the logo, I used black felt to add texture and relief. The actual fabric for the bag is an old duvet cover that I got from MUJI – if you were considering buying a bed linen from MUJI, I would strongly suggest against it – the fabric was so coarse that it was a little like sleeping on a poppadom.

It isn’t reinventing the wheel, but hopefully it fits the purpose quite well.

Leave a Reply

